Plant A Day – Alfalfa

Alfalfa Medicago sativa

Alfalfa
Medicago sativa

This plant really caught me off guard.  I looked all over the place trying to figure out what it was.  It grows along some trails and walkways in northeast Indiana and looks like a bush clover, but I never figured it out until I asked the folks at IN-PLANTS, which is a forum for botany in Indiana.  I guess if I grew up on a farm, I would have recognized it instantly.  I need to get out more.

The feature that gives it away is the teeth at the end of the leaves

The feature that gives it away is the teeth at the end of the leaves

This entry was posted in Plant A Day and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

